Two Allen M. Sumner-class destroyers and three destroyer-minelayers received the Presidential Unit Citation for World War II action. Laffey and Hugh W. Hadley and light minelayers Harry F. Bauer, Henry A. Wiley and Aaron Ward were cited for action against suicide planes off Okinawa in 1945.
USS Aaron Ward (DD 773) USS Harry F. Bauer (DD 738) USS Henry A. Wiley (DD 749) USS Hugh W. Hadley (DD 774)
USS Laffey (DD 724)

Five other Sumner-class destroyers were awarded the Navy Unit Commendation for action off Okinawa: Ingraham, Gainard, Barton, Purdy and Lowry. Five Robert H. Smith-class destroyer-minelayers also received the Navy Unit Commendation: Robert H. Smith, Adams, Shea, J. William Ditter and Gwin.
USS Adams (DD 739) USS Barton (DD 722) USS Gainard (DD 706) USS Gwin (DD 772)
USS Ingraham (DD 694) USS J. William Ditter (DD 751) USS Lowry (DD 766) USS Purdy (DD 734)
USS Robert H. Smith (DD 735) USS Shea (DD 750)