The Navy Unit Commendation may be awarded by the Secretary of the Navy—with the approval of the President—to any ship, aircraft, detachment or other US Navy or Marine Corps unit which, subsequent to December 6, 1941, distinguished itself by outstanding heroism in action against the enemy, but not sufficient to warrant award of the Presidential Unit Citation. It may also be awarded for extremely meritorious service not involving combat but in support of military operations that were outstanding when compared to other units performing similar service. It was established on 18 December 1944.*

Nineteen Fletcher-class destroyers received twenty Navy Unit Commendations for service in World War Two. Click on the links below to view the text of each citation:

USS Albert W. Grant (DD 649) USS Ammen (DD 527) USS Anthony (DD 515) USS Bennett (DD 473)
USS Bradford (DD 545) USS Brown (DD 546) USS Bryant (DD 665) USS Cassin Young (DD 793)
USS Heywood L. Edwards (DD 663) USS Hickox (DD 673) USS Hudson (DD 475) USS Irwin (DD 794)
USS Miller (DD 535) USS Morrison (DD 560) USS Morrison (DD 560) USS Newcomb (DD 586)
USS Prichett (DD 561) USS Taylor (DD 468) USS Wickes (DD 578) USS Van Valkenburgh (DD 656)


* Source: Kerrigan, Evans: American Medals and Decorations, Quintet Publishing Limited, Mallard Press, New York, N.Y., 1990, ISBN 0-792-45082-5.